Home  :  Resources  :  
Resources


Sites


Dance Films Association (http://www.dancefilmsassn.org/)

Dance Camera West (
http://www.dancecamerawest.org/)

Dance for the Camera (
http://www.danceforthecamera.org/)

VideoDance.org.uk (
http://www.videodance.org.uk/)

DanceDocumentation.com (http://www.dancedocumentation.com)

Hyperchoreography.org (
http://www.hyperchoreography.org)


To add a site to our list of related sites, contact the ChoreoVideo Team at
ChoreoVideo@gmail.com.

Texts


Begleiter, Marcie. From Word to Image: Storyboarding and the Filmmaking Process. Studio City, CA: Michael Wiese Productions, 2001. ($27)
ISBN 0-941188-28-0

Dodds, Sherril. Dance on Screen: Genres and Media from Hollywood to Experimental Art. New York: PALGRAVE, 2001. ($35)
ISBN 0-333-80145-8

Douglas, John S. and Glenn P. Harnden. The Art of Technique: An Aesthetic Approach to Film and Video Production. Boston: Simon & Schuster Co., 1996. ($46)
ISBN 0-205-14248-6

Hall, Doug and Sally Jo Fifer.
Illuminating Video: An Essential Guide to Video Art. New York, NY: Aperture, 1990. ($28)
ISBN0-89381-390-7

Katz, Steven D.
Cinematic Motion. 2nd Edition. Studio City, CA: Michael Weise Productions, 2004. ($28)
ISBN 0-941188-90-6


Lyver, Des and Graham Swainson.
Basics of Video Lighting. 2nd Edition. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 1999.
ISBN 0-240-51559-5

Mascelli, Joseph V. The Five C’s of Cinematography: Motion Picture Filming Techniques. Beverly Hills, CA: Silman-James Press, 1965. ($30)
ISBN 1-879505-41-X

McPherson, Katrina. Making Video Dance: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Dance for the Screen. New York: Routledge Press, 2006.
ISBN10: 0-415-37950-4

Mitoma, Judy. Envisioning Dance on Film and Video. New York: Routledge, 2002. ($45)
ISBN 0-415-94170-9

Musburger, Robert B.
Single-camera Video Production. 3rd Edition. Woburn, MA: Focal Press, 2002. ($27)
ISBN 0-240-80476-7

Rees, A. L.
A History of Experimental Film and Video. London: British Film Institute, 1999.
ISBN 0-85170-681-9

Van Sijll, Jennifer.
Cinematic Storytelling: The 100 Most Powerful Film Conventions Every Filmmaker Must Know. Studio City, CA: Michael Weise Productions, 2005.
ISBN 1-932907-05-X

Ward, Peter.
Digital Video Camerawork. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2000.
ISBN 0-240-51605-2


To add a text resource to our list, contact the ChoreoVideo Team at
ChoreoVideo@gmail.com.

Articles


Brannigan, Erin. Maya Deren, Dance, and Gestural Encounters in ‘Ritual in Transfigured Time’. Senses of Cinema 22 (Sept-Oct 2002). http://www.sensesofcinema.com/contents/02/22/deren.html (13 October 2006).

Eisenstein, Sergei. "A Dialectic Approach to Filmmaking." In
Film Form: Essays in Film Theory. Edited and translated by Jay Leyda, New York, Harcourt Brace, 1949.

Greenfield, Amy.
Filmdance: Space, Time, and Energy. In Filmdance Festival. New York: The Experimental Intermedia Foundation at the Public Theatre, 1983.

Nagrin, Daniel. The Art of Videotaping Dance.
http://www.nagrin.com



To add an article to our list, contact the ChoreoVideo Team at
ChoreoVideo@gmail.com.

People


Dale Andree (daleandree@yahoo.com)
Ellen Bromberg (
e.Bromberg@m.cc.utah.edu)
Virginia Brooks (
vlbrooks@aol.com)
Heather Despres Burack (
hburack@hotmail.com)
Elliot Caplan (
pixstart@rcn.com)
Michael Cole (
spaceinvaderman@yahoo.com)
Martha Curtis (
mmcurtis@saturn.vcu.edu)
Amy Greenfield (
amylive2002@yahoo.com)
Lutz Gregor (
lutzGregor@t-online.de)
Constance Valis Hill (
chill@hampshire.edu)
Steve Jackman (
Steve.Jackman@theplace.org.uk)
Paul Kaiser (
paul@kaiserworks.com)
Joan Karlen (
jkarlen@uwsp.edu)
Pooh Kaye (
poohkaye@dmcom.net)
Lynnette Kessler (
lkessler@netwood.net)
Katja Kolcio (
kkolcio@wesleyan.edu)
Alla Kovgan (
akovgan@rcn.com)
Katrina McPherson (K.McPherson@dundee.ac.uk)
Judy Mitoma (jmitoma@arts.ucla.edu)
Bridget Murnane (
bamurnane@attbi.com)
Brenda Nielson (
Brenda@el.net)
Douglas Rosenberg (
rosend@education.wisc.edu)
Gisela Sanders (
Gisela_sanders@hotmail.com)
Andrea Snyder (asnyder@danceusa.org)
Elaine Summers (kacenter@aol.com)
Deirdre Towers (
dfa5@earthlink.net)
Andrea Woods (
souloworks@hotmail.com)
Victoria Uris (
uris.1@osu.edu)
Carmella Vassor (
cvassor@yahoo.com)
Renee Wadleigh (
wadleigh@uiuc.edu)


To be added to our list of People in the Field, contact the ChoreoVideo Team at ChoreoVideo@gmail.com.

“We want to make work that we would want to see: a poetic merging of visual, sound, and kinetic composition that is neither dance documentation nor a television program. This is an inherently minor category, like poetry in the publishing industry, yet we all realize that poems are an essential part of our literary tradition. Minority forms have their place. Such independent media works may not be for broadcast, for home entertainment, or for booking and promotional use. Still, they exist quietly, like books of poetry – if not for a mass market, at least for those who dare to open them. “
From “A Dancer Behind the Lens” by Eiko Otake inside Envisioning Dance on Film and Video